Posted by: David Vernon | January 31, 2012

February 2012 Desktop Calendar

February 2012 Desktop Calendar

Thanks to climate change and La Nina – this is NOT a picture of winter in Illinois this year. Here on January 30, it was a mild 53 degrees. Felt downright summer-like. Part of me loves this – I don’t own a snow blower. Part of me misses the pretty snow. I think I could happily linger with an inch or two of fresh snow – and temps around 28 degrees. But I want to stop there. I guess I could come to terms with these mild winters – but I know that’s a fools’ errand in the long run.

With that said, I wanted you to remember what winter looks like down here on the farms of Central Illinois. Silos and Snow – in black and white – takes me back to late, late December of 2009 when I snapped this photo at the Tremont Grain Co-Op #1 in ‘ol Tremont, IL. Feels kinda filmy to me – but shot on the also ‘ol D300. I think I was frozen at the time – so camera shake wasn’t gonna happen. Instant sharpness.

Get yours below, then head back to the beach life here in Central Illinois. Surfs up dude!

Mobile version:

  • iPad (and cropable by you for all other versions)
Leave a Reply

Categories

