Posted by: David Vernon | November 9, 2009

Sneaking In Where I Can

Tude in Focus

Oh the Internet…

I’ve been without the loving embrace of the Internet at home since last Wednesday night. My satellite Internet connection – tenuous on its best days – puked all over my computer the other night and I am… down. So I’ve sneaked up to my favorite hummus/wireless location in Peoria – where I’m going to squeeze in a few updates for a Monday morning. Then – then I will probably disappear again until Wednesday when the satellite repair dudes find me and rescue me from the black hole of Nointernetness.

So – how about this? The Peoria Flickr group is headed on a bit of a wild outing for their November Photowalk. It’s a trip down to Junk Yard heaven on Saturday, September 21 at 11:45am, as the group invades the scrap yard at the end of Clark Street on Peoria’s South Side. All the details are on the group page. Come one come all – but leave the kids at home for this one – and get ready to get dirty.

And I’ll mention it again – Doug and Eileen Leunig’s show up at Picture This Gallery in Peoria Heights: mindblowingly good. Wow. The official opening is this Friday – and while that’s always a good time – the show is hung now – so stop in and take a look.

The Peoria Art Guild’s Landscape class is going to explore Panoramas in more detail this week. Here’s two things to think about in case you were thinking about “How Can I Take a Better Pano?” First off, consider turning your camera 90 degrees. That’s right – take your panos VERTICALLY. You’ll get more in frame and cover yourself if you’re not perfectly level. A horizontal pano works fine – I just think a vertical one works better as you pan left-to-right. Here’s a second thought to improve your panos – and it has to do with footwork. Yeah seriously – footwork. Typically we point our feet in the direction of our first shot and we twist our body as we shoot the sequence. By the time we’ve gotten to the other end of the pano, we’re twisted quite a bit. This can actually pull you off level. Solve this by pointing your feet at the middle of the pano and twisting to one end before you start. The overall twist away from your feet is less – and you stay more level. It’s the little things ya know.

And consider this – a “do what I say not what I do” lesson. I shot an event for a client on Friday that left me regretting my strategy. The event was an all-day affair covering numerous locations. And by the time the day was done I had shot some 20GB of images – probably some 1,200 total files. I was sometimes deleting on the fly – so in the end I came back with about 900 files but man – I SHOT WAY TOO MUCH. Or at least I shot so much that it extended the edit session as I went through all the images yesterday. Digital has a lot of benefits obviously – and one of them is the incremental cost of the next shot. Just because it feels free doesn’t mean it is. Longer editing sessions and more storage “costs” add up. Sometimes it’s okay to shoot a little less. Once you have the shot consider moving on – and saving a little time. But just make you you DO have the shot.

Alright – I’m going back to the Dark Ages. By Internet – I miss you already.

Leave a Reply

Categories

