Posted by: David Vernon | October 28, 2009

And I’ll jump on the bandwagon

Below Linville Falls

…because you should see this too.

Photographer Cheryl Jacobs Nicolai launched her own blog back in May with an article she’d written years earlier. The first line – on style – has gotten a lot of play in the photography blogosphere in the last few days – and it should. It’s that good. Take a look at the specific quote, but then go over and read the whole article – it will probably have some influence on you as a photographer. Seriously. But still – start here – simply:

“Style is a voice, not a prop or an action. If you can buy it, borrow it, download it, or steal it, it is not a style. Don’t look outward for your style; look inward.”

Anything that is relevant to my personal style is driven by my passion for being out in nature. While I do numerous kinds of photography – it’s landscape shooting that always recharges my batteries and leaves me wanting more.  When I look inward, that’s what I see – and that’s what I try to translate into my work. Photographing at f/1.2 isn’t a style – it’s a technique. Photographing what the heart finds  – now that’s a style.

And hey – just to save a little space – entertain yourself briefly with this: 10 Fascinating Recently Discovered Photographs. Have a great day.

Responses

  1. Well put! I’ve noticed that one floating around as well and almost shared it here, so I am glad you did. It certainly deserves mentioning with all the style talks we’ve had. Take note SoCal photogs about that f/1.2. =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

