Posted by: David Vernon | August 3, 2009

Deke’s Top 40

Mint Bar Brenizer'd

Everyone – and I mean everyone – should take a little vacation. In fact I’m gonna take a little vacation starting right now. It will be a short vacation but I’m going to do something a little unorthodox for me. I’m going to venture out to a place where they have no… wait for it… *gasp* Internet.

It is a little hard to fathom but I think I can do it. And as my little going away present for you, I offer you this link. Use it. Enjoy it. It’s gonna go on for awhile. If you don’t want to be surprised, let me just say that Photoshop teacher extraordinaire Deke McClelland is counting down the top 40 features in Photoshop – over the next 40 weeks – all in video form through the great instructional website lynda.com. From their website:

“Imaging expert and award-winning author Deke McClelland presents his list of the top 40 features in Photoshop—beginning with #40 and working his way up to #1—one weekly video at a time. Some are tools, others are commands, still others are conceptual. All are invaluable. Learn these 40 features and you’ll know Photoshop.”

So go check out the first few and then keep coming back for more. If they already had all 40 in the can I think you could survive my absence – but since they’ve only just gotten started I have another little gem for you. I took the photo above out in my adopted hometown of Sheridan, WY. A lot of little Wyoming towns are famous for THE bar that puts them on the map and in Sheridan it’s the Mint. This was a stitch job done in the style of photographer Ryan Brenizer, who uses stitching to create a thinner depth of field. Check out his article on how he does it right here and see what you can pull off.

Alright – a shot trip beckons. I have three tons of photos to edit already, and when I get back it will be up to four but ya gotta do what ya gotta do. See you in a few days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

