Posted by: David Vernon | July 29, 2009

A Small Change on the Right

Grand Hotel Solstice

Ahh. Summer in Michigan.

I’m kinda wishing I was there right now. Particularly at one of my favorite spot – the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. Well – not to worry – I’ll get back sometime soon (What? You weren’t worried?). I made this shot back on the Summer Solstice with the 10.5mm fisheye lens that’s moved in with me for awhile. Ever wished you had a particular lens to take a particular shot? The fisheye for the Grand Hotel? The 600mm for the Grizzly Bear (with the 1.4x tele-converter – better safe then sorry)? Yeah – me too.

We’ve blogged here before about the experience of renting your gear for a week or two – both to meet a specific need you have and to “try before you buy”. I’ve talked about my experiences with borrowlenses.com in California. They’ve been good to me on numerous occassions: two-day shipping at each end, reasonable rates, good gear – and lots of it. They are my go-to guys when it comes to rentals.

And as of today, I’ve joined their affiliates program – and you will now see a permalink to them on the right-hand side of this blog. IF you are renting and IF you are renting from borrowlenses.com – you can click on the link on THIS blog to do everything you need to do. Your experience will be NO different then if you’d gone to them directly BUT I will get a small cut of the total rental price back from borrowlenses.com to offset the associated costs of running this blog. So you’re helping yourself and you’re helping me. How cool is that? (What? It really is cool? w00t!).

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.

Responses

  1. perfect timing Dave, I am about ready to rent from them again, need to try a zoom.

  2. Excellent. That’s a 600mm f/4 on rent for one year. That should pay off a few bills… er, I mean GREAT!


Leave a Reply

Categories

