Posted by: David Vernon | August 27, 2008

Why am I here?

Treeline and Bean FieldMy first post, from the other day, indicated that I’d start placing content in this blog in 2009. So what do I do? I almost immediately start placing content. What’s up with that?

There’s a couple things up with that. First I’m learning all the power of WordPress and one needs practice using the tools and learning how to customize this thing to the nth degree (gotta figure out how to change my link colors!). There’s also the notion that I need to figure out what this blog will be. What contribution can ONE MORE PHOTO BLOG add to the world? That’s a fair question. Here’s the painful answer: Not much. Now here’s why I’m not too worried about that aspect: It’s all about the niché baby.

I’m here to reach out to my local community of photographers. For now I say to hell with the rest of the world. My vision for the foreseeable future extends about 100 miles in all directions from Peoria, IL. That’s my niché. I can’t actually think of any other photoblogs that specialize in this “market”. So I’m going to try and claim it. It encompasses most of my photographic career. Let’s see – I was a corporate shooter for awhile at a local Peoria company; I teach photography at the Peoria Art Guild; I’m the founder and tyrannical dictator of the Peoria Flickr group; I sell my landscape work at art fairs in Peoria and Bloomington/Normal. Those qualifications are probably just enough to try and alienate the local market.

And what form will this alienation take? Well – I read WAY to many photoblogs – most more clever then mine so far. I will share some of the collective wisdom assembled there – wisdom local folks may not be aware of. I will pip the local photo scene and local photographers – a respectable and large group frankly – showcasing shows/ongoing work/social interactions/businesses/etc. I will use it as a teaching tool with my Art Guild classes – what a great way to introduce folks to wizards like David Hobby or Joe McNally (twins separated at birth) who really know how to teach across the web. Hey class – want a bunch of portrait lighting diagrams? Well here’s a post on that very thing. And here’s how McNally would’ve done it (I figure if I drop McNally’s name enough times in this blog he’ll eventually have to slap the restraining order on me – and that is a teachable photographic moment. McNally.) I’ll even rant and rave on occasion. There’s enough to do. Finally, as I try and browbeat other local experts into contributing to this endeavor in small ways, I thought it would be a good idea to show them I’m not a total hack. I can’t wait until 2009 – I’ll fall WAY behind.

The rest of the world will take care of itself. I’m going to be content reaching 5, 25, or 125 people who like it here as much as I do. And since we spend a lot of our lives within 100 miles of Peoria, it’s time we optimized our photography here. So I’ll keep my eye on the rest of the world, but I’ll keep my camera and my blog focused here. There’s a lot to see.

Responses

  1. Oh, I see why I don’t know about it. Because I’m not in your niche 🙂

  2. […] went back and checked. I wrote an article for this blog back on August 27, 2008 called “Why Am I Here“. In that post I outlined some of the reasons I wanted to originally do a photoblog. I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

