Posted by: David Vernon | January 31, 2014

February 2014 Desktop Calendar

February 2014 Desktop Calendar

If I come back to you in 28 days and offer you a calendar full of Spring (yes, with a capital ‘S’), will you settle for a snowy February calendar of one of my favorite snowy places (even if it was taken in April)? You will? Sweeeeet! I knew you guys were nothing if not accommodating.

The February 2014 Desktop Calendar takes us to the middle of a snow squall on the plains of Central Wyoming, just south of an area known as Shirley Basin and just north of the little town of Medicine Bow. I was actually in the midst of a very large wind farm, and yet I managed to shoot (mostly) between the stalks. This road (US 487) is legendary in my mind for all the times I drove it in the 1980s when I lived in Laramie and my folks lived in, yes, you guessed it, Casper. In the winter, this road could be a holy terror of amazing blowing snow, blinding you to everything outside of your windows including the road. There were days the normally 2.5 hour drive would take 4-5 hours – and you might see just a couple cars on the whole journey. In April of last year, as I worked my way from Sheridan to Laramie, I drove up on the Basin for the first time in at least 10 years and saw all that Wyoming wind was not going to waste as the wind farm stretched from horizon to horizon. But it’s so roomy in Wyoming, you can even find the holes in the wind.

So here you go – grab yourself a little piece of snowy Wyoming – and then come back in 28 days for the first signs of calendar Spring….

Mobile versions:

  • iPad (and cropable by you for all other phone / tablet versions)
Responses

  1. Cool! Didn’t know anyone even knew about Shirley Basin other than the folks who live around the area ( all 10 of them) and the Uranium miners who lived there in the 60’s.

  2. The photo looks like sketch, I love the atmosphere.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

